Review of: Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows had been sitting on my shelf for a couple of months before I picked it up, unsure whether it was going to go well or not.  I had heard good reviews, but it was a little off my path of usual reads, so I went into this unsure of the outcome.  When I read this I hadn’t read her other books yet either, something I hope to fix this summer, but I think after these two books I can definitely manage that.  I think to sum it up, this duology was a great surprise for me, and also helped me break out of my weird reading slump (I immediately bought Crooked Kingdom after reading Six of Crows).

Breakdown?

Rating: 5 out of 5

Reasoning?

Like I said earlier, this duology was a big surprise for me, I didn’t think I’d love it as much as I did, and that exhilarated me enough to buy the second book and practically breeze through it as well.  These books surprised me, and helped me surprise myself by kicking my reading challenge back into gear.

Pros:

The characters in these books are well thought out, and experience great growth.  Each of them are criminals by profession, but many are much more than their career title, except of course Kaz Brekker, who is driven by his love of money and power, or is he?  Sometimes when reading books with multiple perspectives it’s hard to get into the characters, or appreciate every single one, everyone usually has a favorite and a least favorite, but I enjoyed every character, and every second they told their part.  Even in Lord of the Rings I had my favorite groups n the story, usually the group that got the most action throughout their section (c’mon Frodo!).

The Plot twists were great, and made sense in the scheme of things, connecting those sometimes random feeling perspectives at the beginning, and making them have purpose and impact.  When I said earlier that the characters are well crafted, they make decisions out of these periods of growth that are major plot points, and omg moments.

Cons:

-I can’t think of any, I really can’t.

 

Leave a Reply

