Review of: Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare’s books have been a long favorite of mine, and are some of the few books that I make sure I buy when they come out (sometimes the list gets short to save money).  One of the things that I really like about her writing is that it has grown a lot over the years, book by book pretty much, making each new read a new, but still familiar experience, like going to your favorite destination again.  My favorite of her series will always be the Infernal Devices, but that only has to do will Will Herondale, who is one of my all-time favorite characters, I am definitely biased.

Breakdown?

Rating: 5 out of 5

Reasoning?

This book is a whirlwind of emotion, bringing you those cute, happy moments, and the all together ‘I need a hug’ moments.  I don’t think I have read books that cover both spectrums throughout its entirety, but this one does.  This book is basically the real-life scenario of Ron’s comment in Prisoner of Azkaban, ‘so you’re going to suffer but be very happy about it’ (J.K. Rowling).  I’m sorry but that’s the honest truth, you will feel very emotional, but you’re going to love every second of it.

Coming off the emotional high this book left me on, there’s also that aha! moment you get once you finish the book, which doesn’t always happen for me.  It’s pretty much like you’re putting the puzzle together, and all these clues she left suddenly make sense.  It gets you excited for the next book (I have to wait 2 years??), and made me go back and evaluate all those little scenes where these details started to click.

Overall, I gave this book 5 stars because it left me wanting more, about made me cry (does not happen), made me need hugs, and is already making the two year wait almost unbearable.  I often believe I’m an easy grader, but I grade on how a book left me afterwards, and this one will stick with me for months.

Leave a Reply

